Spare the Rock Records to Release Science Fair

May 02

Family Music Release to Support Girls’ Science & Engineering Education

On July 3, Spare the Rock Records will release Science Fair, eighteen exclusive tracks themed around and benefiting science and engineering education for girls.  The album will feature new and exclusive music from artists including Mates of StateLaura VeirsMoona Luna (Pistolera‘s kids’ music incarnation), Elizabeth MitchellFrances England,WunmiBabe the Blue Ox, and many more.  (The track listing is below.)

Extensive research shows that girls, from rural areas to the suburbs to the inner cities, aren’t getting the foundational education they need to get into science fields when they grow up, and so women are significantly underrepresented in science-related fields.  The same research shows that girls are persistently given the message — explicitly or implicitly — that they can’t do science.  Science Fair will be part of changing that, both through the message of the record itself and through the financial contributions it will generate, supporting Girls Inc.’s programs improving girls’ science education.

Science Fair will be the second release from Spare the Rock Records.  In 2010, in response to the devastating earthquake in Haiti, the label released Many Hands: Family Music for Haiti, a benefit for the Haitian People’s Support Project.  Many Hands brought together nearly two dozen artists, including Dan ZanesPete SeegerThey Might Be Giants,Elizabeth MitchellJonathan CoultonLunch Money, and many more.  Many Hands, named the best family music release of 2010 by Amazon and other sources, has raised $50,000 for Haitian relief.

Science Fair has as producers Elizabeth Mitchell, Molly Ledford (Lunch Money), Dean Jones (Dog on Fleas), and Bill Childs (owner of Spare the Rock Records).  Cover art was donated by El Lohse (  Songs cover myriad subjects, from Marie Curie to butterflies to the Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle.

As with Many Hands, after-tax profits will be donated, with Girls Inc.’s science education program the beneficiary.  The release will be available in physical form (distributed by E1) and digitally (at all the usual places).

Tracks (final sequence)

  1. Babe the Blue Ox – Surfin’ Minnesota
  2. Moona Luna – H2O
  3. The Deedle Deedle Dees and IMPACT Repertory Theatre – Time Machine
  4. Frances England – Goldilocks Zone
  5. The Nields – Butterfly Zone
  6. Laura Veirs – Little Black Rock
  7. Elizabeth Mitchell – Phytoplankton
  8. Mates of State – I Am a Scientist
  9. Wunmi – Rainbow
  10. Cat & a Bird – Constellation Bound
  11. Lunch Money – To Be a Fossil
  12. MC Fireworks (with Secret Agent 23 Skidoo) – Rocket Science
  13. Renee & Jeremy – (I Wanna Be Like) Madam Curie
  14. Rachel Loshak – Oh Girl (with John Munson)
  15. Alison Faith Levy & Rudy Trubitt – Deja Vu
  16. Lori Henriques – Heisenberg’s Aha!
  17. Barbara Brousal – I Wonder
  18. Ashley Albert – The Science Fair.

PR Contacts: Stephanie Mayers,, 347-735-0736, or Bill Childs,, 413-387-7267.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.